I Feel Like an Eco Warrioress – Part Two

Well… I am now two or so weeks into my “lets give up all me cleaning products” foray, my analysis of the last two weeks… why have I not switched to a more eco-friendly way of cleaning sooner???  It’s brilliant – I’m a complete “bicarb will clean anything” convert! 🙂

So here are my top tips…..

  1. Throw yourself in at the deep end…no mucking about..donate your unwanted hazardous cleaning products to anyone that will take them and venture forth – you will NOT regret it!
  2. Bicarb – really WILL clean anything!  From your kitchen sink, to your oven, to deodorizing your carpets to making your clothes washing nice and clean – oh and if you mix bicarb with lemon juice it will descale brilliantly (even our shower head came up wonderfully lime-scale free!) – Thanks Mum and Little Poppits for sharing that one with me! 😉
  3. Mixing half a cup of water with a quarter of a cup of white vinegar and two teaspoons of dish wash liquid is the BEST window/glass cleaner I have ever used! I kid you not!!!
  4. Mix a cap full of white vinegar and a few drops of essential oil (i.e. lavender) and chuck it into your washing machine as a fabric conditioner – sheer genius and works a treat – Thank you Lena and Sarah 😉

So…. having surprised myself at how brilliantly I have made the changes to my cleaning cupboard I now will be focusing on me…because we mummies need a little bit of self focus every now and then!  My aim is to phase out and re-source body, face and hair products that fit this eco-friendly ethos…that means chemical free (yes all those not so lovely parabens must shove off!) and eco-friendly, so limited packaging not tested on animals (which I already adhere to!) etc.  This mission my friends is actually even more challenging than the last…look out for my next eco warrioress post to see how I am getting on making the changes 🙂

3 responses to “I Feel Like an Eco Warrioress – Part Two

  1. 🙂 I’m with you all the way & have made a start on the beauty product front 😉 try zanex zero for body/shower & I’m even now using it as a shampoo which seems to be ok – hair hasn’t fallen out yet 😉 I think cosmetics will prove a tad harder to source but I can’t wait to see what you find for us…keep up the good work you lovely eco warrioress 🙂

  2. Ooooh Well done for making those changes 🙂 I think this next step will prove to be a difficult one but I am determined, I want to pass all my knowledge onto Livvy one day so she can also be health and earth concious! I will look out for Zanex in our shops – Thank you! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Eco Warrioress – Homemade Bath Bombs | flutterby rainbow·

Leave a comment