Mumma Bear Eco Friendly Hair Wash And Conditioner

After reading my last post about Tooth Powder you probably think that I am more or less loosing the plot…well, when you read this blog post I think that you are probably going to be convinced that I am indeed completely bonkers!! 😉

100% Natural

I am now obsessed with finding the best ingredients to go into making my own skin care range, it has to be natural – no lee-way there, I have however come across a problem.  You see what goes into making shampoos and conditioners aren’t always the best things that we have available to us.  My biggest concern is the Sodium Lauryl Sulphate (that is the ingredient that gives us all those bubbles).  I read somewhere (I forget now where) that SLS is one of the most commonly used ‘poison’ in beauty products today..now that is alarming! – Please don’t be fooled in thinking that just because a product has been labelled “eco-friendly” or “natural” that it wont contain any SLS ! The problem with SLS is the toxicity level…to read more about the issues surrounding this particular ingredient please click on this link: http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/07/13/sodium-lauryl-sulfate.aspx

I have looked at many recipes but the ones below I think are so far the best!

Hair Wash and Conditioner

Mumma Bears Hair Wash

Don’t be fooled – this is not a “shampoo” it is a hair wash, it does not create a luscious lather and ooze with creamy bubbles! It does however act as a wonderful natural hair wash.  The first time I used it I have to admit I was rather skeptical….the ingredients aren’t one that I would ever  think of using in conjunction with washing my hair BUT so far it has worked a treat!! 😀

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon baking soda/bicarbonate of soda
1 Cup of water
1 Old shampoo bottle (make sure you give it a good rinse out)

Yep that’s really it!!

How To Use

  • Mix the ingredients straight into the shampoo bottle and give it a good shake. 
  • When you are ready to use simply give the bottle a quick shake an squirt directly onto damp hair!
  • Massage into your hair like you would with conventional shampoo then rinse out thoroughly

Some people have mentioned that the baking soda dries out their scalp too much, then their hair becomes greasy quickly – if this happens to me (which it hasn’t yet!) then I will add 1/2 cup aloe vera juice  to the recipe to help to balance the PH level of the hair wash – that apparently will do the trick! 🙂

Mumma Bears Conditioner

This homemade recipe is simply fabulous! It’s the perfect partner to go with the Hair Wash – an absolute must have!!!

Ingredients

1 Cup water
1 Tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar
 2 Drops of honey
5-7 drops of your favorite essential oil (I used lavender!)
An old conditioner bottle

How To Make

  • Using a funnel if you have one – to make it easier for you, simply add all the ingredients to your recycled conditioner bottle and shake well
  • Use as you would a  conditioner – mainly on the lower half of your hair, leave if possible for a few minutes the rinse off
  • The result, super smooth hair!

All our lovely ingredients:

  • Baking Soda: In the case of our Hair Wash, the baking soda helps to remove any build up from conditioners and styling products, it also improve manageability of the hair. As we found out yesterday it has been used for centuries!
  • Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV): Fascinating fact – Hippocrates in 400BC used ACV mixed with honey as an energizing tonic and a health elixir! It is completely natural but just remember not all apple cider vinegar are created equally, some are more equal than others! So always choose cold pressed ACV. It is rich in vitamins and minerals.  It’s main job though is to balance the PH level of the hair, acetic acid, the main ingredient in ACV, helps remove build-up of styling products and leaves the hair shaft super strong.  It is also good at killing bacteria!
  • Lavender Essential Oil: My wonder oil! Brilliant for all sorts of reasons but mainly because I love the smell and the sense of well being I feel when I use it! Please note: If you are pregnant or breast feeding stay away from Lavender Essential Oil, also if you have diabetes it is not recommended you use it.
  • Honey: Used in our conditioner it is a super powerful moisturizer (only using a couple of drops will mean that it dissolves easily in the water, thus no stickiness!) It is also a powerful antioxidant and is known to have antibacterial properties!

So there you have it!  Mumma Bears Hair Collection thus far!!  Livvy and I will be adding more recipes to our hair collection this week – keep your eyes peeled! 😀

Resources:

http://www.diynatural.com/homemade-shampoo/

http://www.benefits-of-honey.com/health-benefits-of-honey.html

http://naturallydowntoearth.com/

http://www.apple-cider-vinegar-benefits.com/

2 responses to “Mumma Bear Eco Friendly Hair Wash And Conditioner

  1. I’ve not been able to find a good alternative to my toxic shampoo, so I am really keen to give this a try 🙂 Thanks & for the conditioner tip too, fab work as always 🙂

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

