3,2,1 BLAST OFF!!

This week we see the continuation of our look at “forces”.  Now, my diy skills leave a lot  to be desired but somehow, by some sheer miracle this latest project actually worked, much to the amazement of Livvy and myself 😉

Searching through my very old Usborne book of The KnowHow Book Of Action Toys I came across a project that would demonstrate the concept of how one force can make an object do one thing whilst another force makes the object do something else entirely….

If I were really smart then I would have given you step-by-step guides on how to make your own rocket as we made ours…. it would appear that I am not that smart!! 😉 What I have done is taken a picture of the book and included it in this post – so if you did decide to make one (which is actually not that hard and great fun!) then you hopefully will be able to follow the pictures from the book.  If I have uploaded it correctly, when you click on the picture it should open in a new tab on a bigger scale for you to read 🙂

How to make a two-stage Saturn rocket

Now a little science thrown in for good measure…

It was Sir Isaac Newton that developed theories about motion and gravitational influences..these theories are still used to this very day when looking at forces that surround us… OK, so I admit I haven’t explained Newtons theories in-depth to Livvy (she is Four after all!) but it has been very interesting for me to read up on it all so that I can better explain what is happening in terminology that she will understand.

Livvy and her rocket

Here are Newtons three Laws of Motion:

  1. ” Every object persists in its state of rest or uniform motion in a straight line unless it is compelled to change that state by forces impressed on it” – In other words…an object will not move unless a force moves it.
  2. “Force is equal to the change in momentum per change in time. For a constant mass, force equals mass times acceleration” – Capish??! So the force upon the object depends of the mass of the object and how fast the object is accelerating!
  3.  “For every action, there is an equal and opposite re-action.” – In the case of our Saturn Rocket, we pull the bottom of the string as hard as we can thus creating great tension, upon releasing the string the “rocket” is projected out of it’s canister!

Interesting huh?!

We have a little library containing Livvy’s books but none that could be used in-conjunction with our little space adventure today, so, in my true Homeschool hunting style I scoured a lovely website that has wonderful e-books for us to read.. We came across this little gem, perfect for a quick break from rocket shooting!

http://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/EBooks/The%20Moon%20Jet/index.html#

As part of today’s Homeschool we also did a little painting ( I always feel the need to get art involved somehow!) … Livvy loved painting her very own picture of a rocket and an Astronaut that landed on the moon! 🙂

Livvy painting her rocket picture

This foray into the world of forces has lead us nicely onto the subject of space and planets…I did think about covering this subject at the beginning of the year when I was planning our lessons but decided against it, it would appear however, that my lovely Livvy has decided that she is most interested to learn more, so in true “tangent” style our next science session will be space and planet based! 🙂

References

http://www.squidoo.com/RocketScience4Kids – Details Sir Isac Newtons theories of motion.

The instructions to make the rocket action toy was taken from: Usborne, The KnowHow Book Of Action Toys.

4 responses to “3,2,1 BLAST OFF!!

  1. This reminds me of my twin girls when they were younger! Now grown one of the taught science projects to 3 kids around your daughters age before taking a full time business type job. 🙂 🙂

  2. Awww! isn’t it funny how we sometimes end up doing something completely different than when we start our working lives?! I often wonder what Livvy will be when she grows up….I don’t mind as long as she is happy and healthy 🙂

Leave a Reply

